The Battle…who are you “at war” with?

My first opponent I am sure was my sister.  She’s 21 months younger and we were the best of friends and rivals at times.  Although I don’t remember that many fights, I am sure I pushed her around!

In the 5th grade I remember fighting with my best friend, Julie.  Our teacher could tell when we were “at war” and would send us into the hall until we worked it out.  We always did.

As a freshman in college I was at war with myself.  I struggled with self image issues and being a people pleaser.

I had a battle with my now 21 year old son when he was 2 years old.  I put him on my bed and told him he could not move until he said that he was sorry.  MISTAKE.  That kid was stubborn and stood his ground and never said he was sorry….I lost that one.

When our youngest child was 6 years old, she was diagnosed with ADHD, we had to battle with the school to make sure she was given a 504 plan for her medical condition.

I have also fought some private battles.  We all have.  These are painful and for now, too personal to share with the world.

But the battle God has led me to write about today is very different in nature.  It’s the kind of war we hear about in sermons, sing about in worship and read about in the scriptures but until last year, I have never felts its effects so strongly.

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.   Ephesians 6:12

I don’t think I understood  what the “day of evil” looked like.  I do now. What did God want me to do?  Stand my ground.  To not be moved or shaken.  To not allow the evil forces at work to destroy me.  

God also wanted me to obey.  To listen to His voice and obey.  

  • I heard His voice in scripture.  
  • I heard His voice in music.  Check out Mosaic MSC.
  • I heard His voice in the prayers of our parents, siblings and children.
  • I heard His voice at the yoga studio.  Yes, you read that right.
  • I heard His voice in podcasts (Beth Moore, Jennifer Rothschild, Lysa TerKeurst to name a few).
  • I heard His voice in texts and calls and letters sent from my sisters in Christ.

I did not have to fight.  God did that.  I had to obey what He told me.

The battle is not over.  It will not be over until we are in heaven.

But I am standing my ground.

Not in my own strength, though.

 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Ephesians 6:10

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Standing My Ground

Leave a comment