This was the subject line for an email I received this morning from one of my favorite Christian authors, Jennifer Rothschild.  I chuckled as I clicked on the blog post because just this week, we received a punch-in-the-gut kind of email filled with unkind and mean-spirited criticism.

I have been criticized before.  We all have.  It never feels good.  But grace-filled constructive criticism that is meant for good is purposeful.  The kind of criticism meant to inflict pain makes me want to crumble.  It takes a lot of energy to process criticism correctly.  As I was praying through my feelings this morning I began to journal about love and forgiveness and I prayed and asked God to show me how to love like He does.  He answered my prayer immediately through Jennifer’s podcast.

Here are some notes that I took while listening:

Hebrews 10:39. We are not like those who shrink back and are destroyed.

  1. Get back up. You always fall on the grace of God.  Unkind criticism always lacks grace.  Truth and grace go hand in hand.  Stand up even if you feel crushed.  Let go of the hurt.  It lightens us.  Holding onto hurt is like holding on to heavy weights.  Give God’s grace to others.  We are all flawed.
  1. Get back out there.  Don’t hide. Give the grace you wish you had been given.

 

Let’s love each other and give each other some grace!

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. 1 Peter 4:8

 

2 thoughts on ““Can you handle criticism without crumbling?”

  1. Needed this this morning!! I To was handed some very unkind criticism just yesterday. I prayed last night that I’d get back up and go on without letting this person get the best of me!! Thanks for sharing
    Much Love Friend ♥️

Leave a comment