In the middle of one of the few “fights” Jonathan and I got into when we were dating, Jonathan looked at me and said, “What do you want?”  And I answered, “The fairytale”.  His response to me was, “You have it but you are turning it into a nightmare!”  We still joke about that today.  Isn’t that what every girls wants?  When I was 22 and dating Jonathan, the fairytale I was looking for consisted of fun dates, love notes and flowers, and late night phone conversations.  I had butterflies in my stomach every time I was near him.

Today is our 15th wedding anniversary.  We have experienced 8 moves, 3 kids and 2 Master’s Degrees.  We have planted 2 churches and coached 18 baseball/softball teams.  We have had our share of heartaches.  Somehow, the fairytale has taken on a whole new meaning over the last 15 years.

The fairytale is watching Survivor Heroes vs. Villains that we have on DVR on Friday nights after the kids are in bed.

The fairytale is the give and take that goes on when we look at the calendar and realize there is no way we can cram it all in.

The fairytale is walks in the neighborhood, pushing the stroller, talking about life.

The fairytale is the “free” tennis lesson before my next match.

The fairytale is watching Jonathan and the kids play wiffle ball in the backyard.

The fairytale is laying in bed at night talking about all the cute things the kids said or did that day.

The fairytale is Jonathan telling me 3 days after surgery that he loves me even more with the scar on my face.

The fairytale is having my best friend to share life with.

No, it isn’t what I dreamed it would be…it is better!  Love you, Johnny!

9 thoughts on “The Fairytale

  1. Wonderful post and Happy Anniversary! It’s been 30 years for me and I still get the butterflies in my stomach.

  2. That is so sweet and so true! Happy 15th !!!! This year will be 21st for Steve and I. It is such a blessing to be married to your best friend!!

  3. That’s awesome to hear a Sweet story about You and Jonathan’s life together over coming life’s many demands. I know it’s not a Fairytale. It’s much better than that. It’s You, Jonathan, and God working together to make a perfect life story! No Pixie Dust needed in this marriage! With God being # 1 in your lives, it all comes together in his mighty plan. Congrats, and have a wonderful day!

  4. Wonderful post Jennifer. And you are 100% right…we start out and have this picture in our heads, then it turns out that living life together, raising kids together, just being with your friend, that is the fairytale – very cool. I hope y’all have a really sweet day together.

  5. Happy Anniversary!! I agree with the “real” fairytale. It’s all about the little things that make your marriage and life great.

Leave a comment