Not too long ago I heard some terrible news.  One of the boy’s mom from Joelan’s baseball team was diagnosed with a brain tumor and had to have emergency surgery to have it removed.  This woman and I had exchanged smiles and waves and our toddler daughters had shared a few french fries together at the baseball games, but I really didn’t know her.  For some reason I felt compelled by the Spirit of God to visit her at Gwinnett Medical.  I made plans to see her the next day and prayed as I walked to her room that God would give me the words to say to her.  She seemed to be expecting me when I arrived to her room.  We talked, cried and prayed and I left encouraging her to cling to God.

She and her family visited our church a couple of Sundays later.  By this time she had received the news that the cancer was all over her body and she was not expected to live much longer.  Again, the Spirit told me to pursue her.  I called her that week and told her that I knew it was weird but that I felt that I couldn’t rest until we talked.  We arranged to meet and she told me that when we got together, she would tell me why I had that feeling.

When I arrived at her house that November morning, she told me that the day she received the news or her diagnosis, she immediately felt the urge to talk with me or Jonathan.  She needed peace and she felt like we could help her settle some of her questions.  We talked that day about eternity, salvation, answered prayers and making the most of every minute we have on earth.  We talked about forgiveness and security and allowing God to take control of our lives.

Six months later, Beth is still in the fight of her life against cancer.  God is answering our prayers and the treatment is working.  Please check out the video that was shared at church on Mother’s Day. 

2 thoughts on “Where He leads, I will go

  1. You are so wonderful to give so much of your life and time to other people! I remember Beth telling me about how much she was drawn to talk to you. It’s great to hear how you were drawn to her too when she needed you the most! God does wonderful things!

Leave a comment